Responding To Change:

Dynamic Stormwater Management in Economic, Political,

and Climatic Transitions



Another Successful U.S. EPA Region 6 Stormwater Conference in Denton, Texas 

The EPA Region 6 Stormwater Management Group, the Institute for Sustainable Energy and the Environment, the City of Denton and the North Central Texas Council of Governments just completed organizing and hosting the 21st Annual USEPA Region 6 Stormwater Conference in the City of Denton, Texas near the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex from July 28 through August 1 of 2019. Members of the Organizing Committee represented all of the EPA Region 6 states of Oklahoma, Arkansas, Louisiana, Texas and New Mexico.  Important contributors also included the Trinity River Authority, the Upper Trinity Water District, Peterbilt Inc., and Wade Trim Consultants.

Significantly, this was the largest Region 6 Stormwater Conference ever with over 400 participating water professionals, city managers, and planners. Significant groups of participants came from the Metroplex cities of Dallas, Fort Worth, Plano, Carrollton, Frisco, Denton, and many others.  Several participants achieved an important certification through the Certified Inspector for Sediment and Erosion Control (CISEC) program led by that professional organization.  Over 24 Exhibitors and Sponsors showcased their expertise and services to the group.  Keynote addresses included a well received presentation by Dr. Katherine Hayhoe, climate scientist at Texas Tech University who spoke to the group about climate change and long range stormwater management and planning.  Important workshops and field trips were led by U.S. EPA, the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, Tetra Tech Consulting, Peterbilt, Inc., Wade Trim and others.  Seven Texas A&M University Kingsville Environmental Engineering graduate students also traveled to Denton and supported and participated in the seminars, field trips and workshops.

Planning has already begun for the 22nd Annual Conference in 2020 projected for being hosted by one of the nominated cities of New Orleans, Lafayette, or Shreveport in the State of Louisiana.