About Us

The Institute for Sustainable Energy and the Environment (ISEE) & the department of Environmental Engineering researchers, faculty and students conduct interdisciplinary applied research projects to provide the basis for environmental design, planning and sound policy making on environmental issues relevant to South Texas.

Conferences, short courses and workshops are held on a regular basis dealing with issues relevant to the South Texas population. Representation on conference and outreach activities extends beyond the border to include organizations in Mexico. Public environmental education materials specific to South Texas demographics and regional environmental issues are developed and disseminated through partnerships established with educational programs and regional environmental conferences.

Associated academic programs at Texas A&M University – Kingsville provide M.S. and Ph.D. candidate and faculty resources to the Institute and its component programs.

Faculty and Staff

Dr. Kim Jones
Environmental Engineering & ISEE
Regents Professor and Director of ISEE
kjones@tamuk.edu
Phone#:(361) 593-2187
  • Natural Systems engineering applications for solid and hazardous waste treatment
  • Environmental biotechnologies for air and water treatment
  • Low Impact Development research and modeling
  • Constructed wetlands
  • Vapor phase biofiltration for air toxics
Lois Bennett
ISEE-Administrative Coordinator
lois.bennett@tamuk.edu
Phone#:(361)593-3046

Yvonne Dives Gomez
Graduate Student Researcher
yvonne.dives-gomez@students.tamuk.edu

Dr. Tushar Sinha
Environmental Engineering
Assistant Professor
Tushar.Sinha@tamuk.edu
Phone #:(361) 593-3061
  • Freshwater sustainability
  • Land surface hydrology
  • Surface water-groundwater interactions
  • Streamflow and soil moisture forecasting
  • GIS engineering applications

Josie Rios
Graduate Student Researcher
josie.rios@students.tamuk.edu
Phone#: (956)378-7065

George Gonzales
Graduate Student Researcher
jorgeglez87@gmail.com

Dr. Juan Cesar Bezares-Cruz
Environmental Engineering
Assistant Professor
Juan.Bezares-Cruz@tamuk.edu
Phone#:361-593-2069
  • Environmental fate and transport of micro pollutants in engineered and natural systems
  • Enhancement of advanced oxidation processes for sustainable water production
  • Interaction of bacteria with estrogenic chemicals in granular suspended matter

Shooka Khorramfar
Graduate Student Researcher
s.khorramfar@yahoo.com

Krutikkumar T Patel
Graduate Student Researcher
krutikkumar.patel@students.tamuk.edu

For more information about our Environmental Engineering Department, please visit:

http://www.tamuk.edu/engineering/departments/even/